Lady Smoke

Title: Lady Smoke

Series: Ash Princess

Author: Laura Sebastian 

Genre: Fantasy & Young-Adult

Release Date: February 5, 2019


Review:

Wow, I devoured this book in less than a day! Lady Smoke consumed me just as much, if not more, than Ash Princess did. I love when a series gets better with each book, and Laura Sebastian has nailed it with her Ash Princess series. The sequel takes us back to Theo after she escaped the Kaiser and met Dragonsbane. I don’t want to give any spoilers for those who haven’t read Ash Princess, so I’ll just leave it at that. (Haven’t read A.P. Yet? Check out my review for it here.)

“Hope is contagious. When you have enough it spreads naturally.”— Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian 

We see a lot of character and plot development in Lady Smoke. Theo is quickly learning that escaping the Kaiser was the easiest part of her journey, and she has many more obstacles to come. She begins to lose her naivety, and learns that people can be treacherous outside of Astrea too. Other characters develop a lot too, such as Artemisia and the emotional side of her she desperately tries to hide. 

“It’s such a rare moment of vulnerability from Artemisia that I don’t know quite how to reply. Even breathing too loudly feels like it will break the spell that’s fallen over us.”—Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian 

The love triangle grows, and the romance becomes a lot more interesting. I honestly can’t say I blame Theo, I’m torn between both men too. As I said, the plot develops a lot more, and though I won’t spoil anything for you, I will say that the ending will make you impatiently cry at the release date for the next book. Cheers to those of us waiting for the third book, it’s gonna be tough year! 🍻 

“I died the Queen of Peace, and peace died with me,” she says after a moment. “But you are the Queen of Flame and Fury, Theodosia, and you will set their world on fire.”— Lady Smoke by Laura Sebastian 

 

Book Blurb:

The sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that was “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Lady Smoke is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

The Kaiser murdered Theodosia’s mother, the Fire Queen, when Theo was only six. He took Theo’s country and kept her prisoner, crowning her Ash Princess–a pet to toy with and humiliate for ten long years. That era has ended. The Kaiser thought his prisoner weak and defenseless. He didn’t realize that a sharp mind is the deadliest weapon.

Theo no longer wears a crown of ashes. She has taken back her rightful title, and a hostage–Prinz Soren. But her people remain enslaved under the Kaiser’s rule, and now she is thousands of miles away from them and her throne.

To get them back, she will need an army. Only, securing an army means she must trust her aunt, the dreaded pirate Dragonsbane. And according to Dragonsbane, an army can only be produced if Theo takes a husband. Something an Astrean Queen has never done.

Theo knows that freedom comes at a price, but she is determined to find a way to save her country without losing herself.

 

Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2UsB49z

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2VzJSac

 

About the Author:

EA28064F-59CC-4EAC-A41B-37667DF1506E

Laura Sebastian grew up in South Florida and attended Savanah College of Art and Design. She now lives and writes in New York City. Laura is the author of the New York Times bestseller Ash Princess and it’s sequel, Lady Smoke. 

 

Get Social with Laura Sebastian:

Laurasebastianwrites.com

Twitter: @sebastian_lk

Instagram: @lauraksebastian 

Author: BookaholicBrittany

Hi my name is Brittany and I’m a Bookaholic. I read about 300 books a year! I’m also a nature lover and environmental science enthusiast. I’m a full-time student earning my degree in Library Science, a mommy of four, and a proud military spouse. My life can be chaotic, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. ❤️

6 thoughts on “Lady Smoke”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s