Onyx & Ivory

Title: Onyx and Ivory

Series: Rime Chronicles

Author: Mindee Arnett

Genre: Fantasy, Young-Adult

Release Date: May 15, 2018

 

Blurb:

“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” —Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author of Truthwitch

Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals.

And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

 

Review:

If I had known how amazing this book is, I would have read it a lot sooner! I regret not reading it until now. I stumbled across this author because of her attending the Apollycon 2020 and the book description interested me. It was patiently sitting on my to-be-read shelf for 2-3 months and I finally got around to reading it. The book is even more as captivating as the blurb sounds.

The whole book is interesting, we have two groups of magical people (maybe a third?), royals and nobility, mysterious foreigner with her own secrets, magical creatures, tension and war brewing, evil-doers and villains galore…seriously, who could possibly want more? Oh wait, me! I want more! I’m ready to dive into the second book and read MORE!!

 

Buy on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2ClsGwV

Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2CkABL6

 

About the Author:

3F6C5535-18D1-4BC4-B867-1F6FE73DEFF9

Mindee Arnett is the author of two forthcoming young adult series. The first book in her contemporary fantasy series, The Nightmare Affair is forthcoming March 2013 from Tor Teen (Macmillan) while her YA sci-fi thriller, Finding Eden (tentative title) will debut Winter 2014 from Balzer+Bray (HarperCollins). She lives on a horse farm in Ohio with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and an inappropriate number of cats. She’s addicted to jumping horses and telling tales of magic, the macabre, and outer space.

Her short stories have appeared in various magazines, including Happy, and she has received an honorable mention in The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror 2008. She has a Master of Arts in English literature with an emphasis in Creative Writing. She is represented by Suzie Townsend of New Leaf Literary and Media. She also blogs and tweets.

 

Connect with Mindee Arnett:

Website:

http://www.mindeearnett.com

Twitter:

@MindeeArnett

Facebook:

https://facebook.com/mindeearnettauthor/

Instagram:

@mindeearnettauthor

Author: BookaholicBrittany

Hi my name is Brittany and I’m a Bookaholic. I read about 300 books a year! I’m also a nature lover and environmental science enthusiast. I’m a full-time student earning my degree in Library Science, a mommy of four, and a proud military spouse. My life can be chaotic, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. ❤️

One thought on “Onyx & Ivory”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s